This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
A lightweight mouse with a clear settings tradeoff
The Razer Viper V4 Pro in this review is the black, 49g wireless configuration. Its listing emphasizes competitive control: an 8000 Hz wireless polling option, a high-resolution optical sensor, optical button switches and an optical scroll wheel. The more practical buying question is whether those features suit your controls, charging routine and desk setup—not whether every specification should stay at its maximum.
This is a specification-based assessment of the supplied retailer listing, not a hands-on test. Razer’s advertised battery endurance, tracking limits and durability figures are therefore claims rather than verified results. The listing gives enough detail to assess several meaningful tradeoffs, but leaves important ergonomic and control-layout questions unanswered.
The listed hardware at a glance
| Item | Listed specification |
|---|---|
| Configuration | Viper V4 Pro wireless mouse, black |
| Mass | 49g |
| Wireless connection | Razer HyperSpeed Wireless Gen-2; up to 8000 Hz polling |
| Sensor | Focus Pro 50K DPI Optical Sensor Gen-3; up to 930 IPS and 90 G acceleration |
| Button switches | Optical Switches Gen-4; claimed 100-million-click lifespan |
| Scroll wheel | Optical actuation with advertised tactile feedback |
| Battery claims | Up to 180 hours at 1000 Hz; up to 45 hours at 8000 Hz |
| Customization | Synapse 4 on PC and Mac; sensitivity, mouse rotation and 1-DPI adjustments |
| Included accessories | Grip tape, HyperSpeed wireless dongle and USB Type-A to USB Type-C cable |
| Listed dimensions | 5 × 2.51 × 0.1 inches; height requires clarification |
49g helps define the audience, not the fit
The advertised 49g mass makes low weight a central reason to consider this configuration. For someone who dislikes a weighty mouse during repeated repositioning, that is a more directly relevant specification than the sensor’s maximum DPI. It does not establish comfort, however: grip shape, hand size and where the shell supports your fingers remain separate considerations.
The included grip tape is useful because buyers have an optional contact-surface accessory without needing to source it separately. The evidence does not describe its coverage or texture, so there is no basis for promising a particular grip feel.
Desk-fit guidance is limited by the dimensions entry. The listing reports 5 × 2.51 × 0.1 inches, but that final measurement is not credible as a complete mouse height and should be clarified before relying on it. The supplied evidence also does not establish grip suitability or handedness. Do not infer those details from the weight or the esports positioning.
For planning the broader movement area, the site’s gaming mouse pad guide provides a separate starting point. Choose desk space around your preferred movement range rather than treating a small mouse footprint as sufficient clearance.
Wireless speed comes with a charging decision
HyperSpeed Wireless Gen-2 and an included wireless dongle establish the intended wireless connection. The box also contains a USB Type-A to USB Type-C cable, and the listing explicitly supports wired as well as wireless use. That gives this configuration a useful fallback when you prefer a cable, although cable length and flexibility are not specified.
The clearest tradeoff is battery endurance. Razer advertises up to 180 hours at 1000 Hz and up to 45 hours at 8000 Hz. In those stated figures, selecting the highest polling rate reduces the endurance ceiling to one quarter of the 1000 Hz figure. Neither number should be read as guaranteed runtime for your usage.
A sensible starting point is therefore to choose polling rate deliberately. Buyers prioritizing fewer charging interruptions have a clear reason to consider 1000 Hz; those specifically seeking 8000 Hz must accept the shorter advertised interval. The listing does not provide charging time, intermediate-rate endurance or system requirements for the highest polling setting. It also does not establish Bluetooth support, so this should not be selected on the assumption that it offers dongle-free Bluetooth pairing.
Optical controls, with layout details still missing
The scroll wheel uses optical actuation, while the main switch specification names Razer’s Gen-4 optical switches. Razer presents the wheel as a consistency and durability improvement and describes tactile feedback. Those are relevant design claims for players who use scrolling as an in-game control, but they do not tell us how firm each wheel step feels or how easily accidental inputs occur.
Likewise, the claimed 100-million-click switch lifespan is a durability specification, not proof that an individual mouse will last that long. Click force, sound and travel are not supplied. Neither are button count, side-button placement or confirmed remapping capabilities. Buyers whose games depend on a specific thumb-button layout should resolve those omissions before choosing this model.
Sensor adjustment is more useful than chasing the ceiling
The Focus Pro 50K Gen-3 sensor is listed with tracking limits of 930 IPS and 90 G. These describe the advertised operating envelope; they do not demonstrate better aim or measured responsiveness in a particular game. Razer also claims that Frame Sync coordinates sensor data with the PC to reduce latency, but the evidence includes no independent validation.
For everyday setup, the more actionable detail is Synapse 4 support on PC and Mac. Listed adjustments include sensitivity, mouse rotation and 1-DPI increments. These provide fine-grained configuration options, though their usefulness depends on your preferences. Onboard profile storage and which settings persist without software are not documented, an important uncertainty if you switch computers frequently.
Frequently asked questions
What is included with the Razer Viper V4 Pro?
The package includes grip tape, a HyperSpeed wireless dongle and a USB Type-A to USB Type-C cable. The listing also supports wired use as well as wireless operation. It does not specify the cable’s length or flexibility, and the supplied information does not describe the grip tape’s coverage or texture.
Can the mouse be used with a cable?
Yes, the listing explicitly supports wired use as well as wireless use. The included USB Type-A to USB Type-C cable provides the stated cable connection, although its length and flexibility are not specified. The supplied information does not say whether wired use changes polling options, battery behavior or software requirements.
Does the Razer Viper V4 Pro support Bluetooth?
Bluetooth support is not established by the supplied listing. The described wireless connection is Razer HyperSpeed Wireless Gen-2, used with the included wireless dongle. Buyers should therefore not select this model assuming it offers dongle-free Bluetooth pairing, because the article does not provide evidence of Bluetooth functionality.
What software supports the mouse, and which systems are listed?
Synapse 4 is listed for PC and Mac. The documented customization options include sensitivity, mouse rotation and 1-DPI adjustments. The article does not establish whether profiles are stored onboard or which settings persist without software, so those details remain important for anyone who regularly switches between computers.
Are the mouse dimensions reliable in the listing?
The listing reports dimensions of 5 × 2.51 × 0.1 inches, but the final measurement is not credible as a complete mouse height and requires clarification. The article therefore advises against relying on that entry for desk-fit planning. Grip suitability, handedness and shell support are also not established by the supplied information.
Verdict: compelling specifications, conditional suitability
The Viper V4 Pro is worth considering if your priorities are a stated 49g weight, dongle-based wireless operation and optional 8000 Hz polling. Its most concrete compromise is the substantially shorter advertised battery endurance at maximum polling. Before committing, confirm the shell dimensions, button layout and profile behavior: those practical details may matter more than the sensor ceiling.
Sources: Supplied retailer listing for the Razer Viper V4 Pro.
Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon
