This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
A compact wired mouse with a focused brief
The Corsair KATAR PRO XT wired mouse makes its clearest case through a compact symmetric shape, a listed 73 g weight and a cable marketed for reduced drag. For a PC gaming setup, those details are more useful starting points than its maximum DPI alone: they help frame how the mouse might fit your grip and how you will need to arrange your desk.
This review covers the black wired KATAR PRO XT and is based on the supplied retailer specifications, not detailed research. The evidence supports a fairly focused recommendation for players considering claw or fingertip grip, but it leaves important control and connectivity details unresolved. Corsair’s button-speed and tracking claims should therefore be treated as advertised benefits rather than verified results.
Key specifications and what remains unclear
| Item | Listed detail |
|---|---|
| Model and connection | Corsair KATAR PRO XT, wired |
| Variant | Black |
| Weight | 73 g in the feature description |
| Shape and intended grips | Compact symmetric shape; claw and fingertip grips |
| Listed size | 115.8 × 64.2 × 37.8 mm |
| Separate dimensions field | 4.5 × 7 × 2.25 inches; its meaning is not explained |
| Sensor | Custom PixArt optical sensor, up to 18,000 DPI with 1 DPI adjustment steps |
| Primary buttons | Spring-loaded Corsair QUICKSTRIKE design |
| Cable | Paracord cable advertised to reduce drag |
| Software and platforms | Title lists iCUE compatibility and PC, Mac, PS5, PS4 and Xbox |
| Not established | Total button count, polling rate, connector type, cable length and onboard profile support |
Grip fit deserves attention before sensitivity
The listing explicitly positions the compact symmetric shell for claw and fingertip grips. That gives this mouse a more specific audience than a general promise of gaming comfort. If you prefer controlling a mouse with your fingers rather than resting your whole hand over it, this is a configuration worth considering. That is a fit-based inference, however, not a guarantee that the shell will suit your hand.
The millimeter size entry provides a useful reference for comparing against a mouse you already own. The listing also supplies a separate inch-based dimensions entry that does not agree with it. Because the evidence does not explain that discrepancy, the two should not be treated as interchangeable body measurements. Confirm the physical dimensions if your choice depends on a close size match.
Palm-grip users have less affirmative guidance here: the supplied description does not target that style. Likewise, a symmetric outline alone does not establish full left-handed suitability, because the button layout is not supplied. The stated 73 g weight is another useful comparison point, but it cannot establish comfort, balance or fatigue over a long session without testing.
Quickstrike buttons: a design claim, not a latency result
The most distinctive control feature in the evidence is Corsair’s QUICKSTRIKE primary-button design. The listing describes spring-loaded left and right buttons intended to eliminate the gap between the buttons and their switches. In principle, reducing that mechanical gap could make actuation feel more immediate. The evidence does not demonstrate how much difference a player would notice.
Do not read the advertised speed benefit as a measured click-latency advantage. There are no supplied latency results, actuation-force figures or durability specifications. The listing also does not establish the total number of buttons or which controls can be reassigned. For an FPS player who needs particular commands on the mouse, confirming the control layout is more important than assuming the product’s FPS positioning guarantees the right inputs.
Sensor adjustment without a tracking verdict
The custom PixArt optical sensor is listed at up to 18,000 DPI, adjustable in single-DPI increments. Fine adjustment is potentially useful when matching a preferred sensitivity, though such small steps do not by themselves demonstrate better aiming. The maximum setting is best treated as an adjustment ceiling rather than a reason to expect competitive improvement.
The supplied evidence does not identify a more specific sensor model or provide polling-rate and tracking-test results. It consequently supports a description of the available sensitivity range, not a verdict on tracking consistency or responsiveness. iCUE compatibility appears in the title, but the listing does not explain which settings require the software or whether they remain stored on the mouse. That matters if you intend to configure it once and then move between systems.
Plan the cable route and verify platform support
This is the wired variant, so desk planning should include a cable path rather than assuming wireless freedom. Corsair advertises the paracord cable as reducing drag. That is a relevant feature for players making broad mouse movements, but the published listing information does not establish the cable’s actual resistance or how it behaves against a desk edge.
Cable length and connector type are unspecified. Before committing to a setup with a distant PC or a routed cable channel, verify both rather than assuming the lead will reach comfortably. Leaving an unobstructed path is sensible setup guidance, not evidence that this particular cable will snag or need an accessory.
The title names PC, Mac, PS5, PS4 and Xbox alongside iCUE compatibility. It does not define equivalent functionality across those platforms, supported operating-system versions or game-specific console support. Treat those platform names as listing claims requiring confirmation for your intended use, not a promise that every game and software feature will work everywhere.
Frequently asked questions
Is the KATAR PRO XT wireless?
No, the KATAR PRO XT is the wired variant. Its listing describes a paracord cable advertised to reduce drag, but it does not specify the cable length or connector type. Plan a clear route from the mouse to the PC, especially if the computer is distant or the cable will pass through a channel.
How many buttons does the mouse have?
The article cannot establish the total button count. The listing discusses spring-loaded left and right primary buttons, but it does not state how many controls the mouse has or which ones can be reassigned. If your FPS setup requires particular commands on the mouse, confirm the control layout before buying.
Would this mouse suit palm grip?
The supplied description does not specifically target palm grip. It positions the compact symmetric shell for claw and fingertip grips, while the listed 115.8 × 64.2 × 37.8 mm size and 73 g weight provide comparison points. Those details do not establish comfort, balance or fatigue for any grip style.
What does iCUE compatibility mean for this mouse?
The listing names iCUE compatibility, but it does not explain which settings require the software or whether settings remain stored on the mouse. It also does not define equivalent functionality across PC, Mac, PS5, PS4 and Xbox. Verify the software and platform support needed for your intended setup.
Are the listed dimensions consistent?
No, the article identifies an unresolved discrepancy. The listing gives 115.8 × 64.2 × 37.8 mm and separately gives 4.5 × 7 × 2.25 inches, without explaining what the second entry means. Treat them as non-interchangeable body measurements and confirm the physical dimensions if close size matching matters.
Verdict: promising fit, with control details to check
The KATAR PRO XT wired is most compelling on paper for someone seeking a compact, 73 g mouse aimed at claw or fingertip grip, with finely adjustable DPI and spring-loaded primary buttons. Its key purchase checks are physical fit, button layout and cable reach. Buyers needing verified latency performance, detailed remapping information or clearly documented cross-platform functionality need more evidence.
For a broader selection framework, see our FPS gaming mouse guide. Prioritize grip and required controls before using maximum DPI to distinguish candidates.
Source: Supplied retailer listing for the Corsair KATAR PRO XT wired mouse.
Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon
